IGNORED

Getting ahead of myself but is this possible on a 2600?

So I'm still learning this stuff but is it possible to have a sprite such as the cannon in space invaders

and then mirror that sprite so you can display it as

post-1544-1175124659.gif

or

post-1544-1175125605.jpg

easily as one entity such as the bi-planes in combat

I have a basic idea of sprites and I know that in games like Combat you can display 2 or 3 of the same sprite but can you display two mirrored copies at the same time

or would you need to work some magic to do this?

I wanna try a shooter where you have two shots but you can flip your second cannon any way you like

If it's both cannons facing up you get two shots like the fried version of SI

But I wanna be able to rotate the second cannon to the right, down of left as the pictures suggest

post-1544-1175124701.jpg

First of all, terminology: your first pair of images show the sprite "rotated" 90 degrees, the second and third pairs show it "flipped" (mirrored is not a noticeable change with this sprite since it's horizontally symmetrical!)

Flipping a sprite in software is easily doable, as is mirroring. Rotating 90 degrees is not too difficult but is easiest if it's square.

The VCS has no provision to do any of these "automatically", nor can it display a single shape in multiple orientations by using the standard multiple-copies method.

EDIT: Correction- the VCS does have left/right mirroring capability built-in.

Edited by A.J. Franzman

First of all, terminology: your first pair of images show the sprite "rotated" 90 degrees, the second and third pairs show it "flipped" (mirrored is not a noticeable change with this sprite since it's horizontally symmetrical!)

Flipping a sprite in software is easily doable, as is mirroring. Rotating 90 degrees is not too difficult but is easiest if it's square.