IGNORED

Building a SCART cable - how to?

Tickled_Pink

Bought a 5-pin DIN plug for this project a few weeks ago, and now that I finally want to have a crack at it, I can't find any definitive information on how to do it. I have found some for the C64 but they use the Composite Chroma signal which most 800XLs don't have (apparently).

Anyone know the best way of wiring an 800XL to SCART?

as far as I know the 800xl will put out a composite signal no problem, i had din-RCA on my TV no problem. Pic quality was MUCH improved over RF.

What the XL can't do is output seperate croma and luma ie S-video, for that you have to open the XL up and solder the missing connection (over simplyfied description)

Edited by mimo

If you have the ability to solder a SCART plug, then adding Chroma to the 800XL will be a walk in the park - just a length of wire with a shrinkwrap insulated resistor.

I'm no expert on soldering but it took me under 10 minutes to do it.

Um ... remember how you did it?

Anyway, if I can fit a Matrix mod-chip into the PS2, I'm sure I can handle this. ;)

Edited by Tickled_Pink

From http://wolfpup.net/atarimods/supervid2.html