IGNORED

A few questions before I attempt to code anything

tokumaru

Hello everyone. I'm new here but I've been lurking around for a while now.

I've been studying this little beast that is the 2600 through Andrew's lessons and a few other docs. I'm finding it all very interesting, and will probably try to code something for it soon.

I'm not a newbie when it comes to game coding, I'm an experienced NES programmer (who has nothing great to show yet, unfortunately), but since the 2600 had a part in my childhood I recently developed some interest in programming it also.

Since I'm used to coding for the NES, 6502 asm is like a native language to me, and I often find myself coding stuff in my head during the day, so that's taken care of. I'm focusing on the TIA right now, and I believe I understand most of it's workings by now, but I do have a few questions about the 2600 that I'd like you guys to answer for me.

1. Since you have control of the number of scanlines the game outputs (should be 262) and you have to control that very carefully, how exactly do you handle the game logic? I mean, when the picture is rendering the program has to pay 100% attention to the TIA, to update everything at the right times. So, the time to handle game logic would be during VBLANK and in the OVERSCAN area. However, since those regions must have a constant number of scanlines, does that mean your game logic has to be constant-timed also? That'd be very weird, since there are a lot of conditional stuff in the game logic, which would make it nearly impossible to have it use the same ammount of cycles every time. So, how do you handle game logic and timing during VBLANK and OVERSCAN?