IGNORED

Hooking a 7800 to a VGA monitor?

Gregory DG

What would be the best way to do this, if at all possible? This is assuming a standard, non-modified 7800 with the old switchbox style gizmo...

I know there are composite to vga boxes (the cheapest one I've found is here) but then I'd have to convert the 7800 to composite A/V...

Any suggestions?

You may want to consider one of Samsung multimode LCD displays, I have a 15" display and it has VGA, Svideo, Composite and RF input, works VERY well with my 7800, flashback 2 and Atari 800 computer.

Curt

What would be the best way to do this, if at all possible? This is assuming a standard, non-modified 7800 with the old switchbox style gizmo...

I know there are composite to vga boxes (the cheapest one I've found is here) but then I'd have to convert the 7800 to composite A/V...

Any suggestions?

Samsung makes awesome displays. I have a 19" SyncMaster for the computers and a 40" 1080p HDTV for the living room. Both have a whole smörgåsbord of connectors, letting me attach just about anything capable of producing video.

My only complaint is with the SyncMaster: When running older game systems off it, the monitor "intelligently" switches to a "240p" mode, reducing the video resolution. This actually makes the picture look worse than if it would just render the picture like any other television signal.

If buying a new monitor isn't an option, you could buy a video capture card for your computer. I'm not aware of any other options, though I'm sure somebody out there makes a converter box if you look hard enough. It probably wouldn't be any cheaper than a video capture card, though.

if you are going to got with a $50 box think about Viewsonic Nextvision N4 I got mine for 100 bucks and it has RF in tc tuner composite in and PC pass through. I got mine from microcenter for about 100 bucks ... they have a upgraded version as well. and this is what I use with my 21'' NEC crt that is "spare".