IGNORED

ATTN: Programmers, What program do you use to write Atari?

Cassidy Nolen

Hi all,

After doing some reading, I am not sure what language I would use to write a game for 2600, or for 5200 for that matter. Is there a cross compiler for C? I am by no means a programmer, but I was looking at "how to" books on C, and maybe that is the language to do it in?

Geez, wish I had taken a class in computers back in the day. I have come a long way on my own, but still a lost cause!

Thanks for your thoughts.

Cassidy

Can I run it on an emulator on a PC? I have an XE system, so if I needed to, I could use that instead. Does anyone have the program that they could send me?

I assume it is a very small program. Can I make a cartridge of it for my XE?

Thanks for the info, guys. All the effort will hopefully be repaid to the community via new goodies. I really am quite stubborn about things, and am not afraid of a few year commitment. :)

Cassidy

Can I run it on an emulator on a PC?  I have an XE system, so if I needed to, I could use that instead.  Does anyone have the program that they could send me?  

There were some threads about this in the Programming forum. There you will find plenty of useful information.

Thanks for the info, guys.  All the effort will hopefully be repaid to the community via new goodies.  I really am quite stubborn about things, and am not afraid of a few year commitment. :)

That's one point for you. :thumbsup:

Only 99 to go! :D

You can do it Cassidy!

http://www.gaming-age.com/cgi-bin/specials...brew1&pagenum=1

Go read this article, I wrote it in February for Gaming-Age and I think that it gives nice overview info about not only the 2600 but 5200 homebrew scene and (most importantly) there are links at the end to help you with the ASM and Hex stuff.