IGNORED

Rediscovering the Brick

Lord Thag

I've had a Lynx ever since high school when I stumbled upon the Toys R Us clearance sale. I got several games with it, the only decent one being Shadow of the Beast. I played it for a month and forgot about it. I've had the thing sitting on a shelf for years, and have aquired a few games since, but I never really messed with the Lynx much.

Just recently, I came upon a large stack of games for it, and I started playing around with the old brick again. Funny thing is, I can't put it down now. I never realized how many great games there were for this system, particularly some of the arcade ports. I can't believe I've missed out on this system for as long as I have. I'm really enjoying titles like Qix, Rampage, Xybots, Rygar and the like. I'm impressed by how accurate some of these ports are, many of which are better than their console brethren. I'm also impressed by the ginourmous size of the thing, and the weird looks you get when playing the thing in public. This sucker is the Hummer of handhelds, huge, impractical, yet strangely compelling.

So, I guess you'll be seing me poking around in here as well as the other forums. I'm planning on getting a few more games soon. Anyone care to tell me how the songbird titles Remnant and Cyber Virus are? They look neat. Are they worth the $40?

• Like 1

I've had a Lynx ever since high school when I stumbled upon the Toys R Us clearance sale. I got several games with it, the only decent one being Shadow of the Beast. I played it for a month and forgot about it. I've had the thing sitting on a shelf for years, and have aquired a few games since, but I never really messed with the Lynx much.