IGNORED

Anyone design/program USB?

supercat

I'm trying to design a 4A50 programmer and would like to use a CY8C24894 as a USB HID-class device. I think I have things pretty much working, but even though I've set the endpoint latencies in the device descriptor to 1, the thing is still limited to one packet every 2ms (the limit should be one packet every ms). Does anyone have experience working with such things?

I started out with the 'buttons and lights' demo in Cypress' application note AN2298 but added code to use an interrupt-OUT endpoint rather than using control transfers for output. When a packet is received, it will update a byte on an LCD display and will then send 0-15 packets in response (based upon bits 0-3 of the first byte of the received packet). What is necessary to get maximum throughput, and is it possible to use more than one endpoint for input or output to boost speed further?

Thanks for any assistance.

How do's,

I've got some experience, but mainly with the FX2LP family. They're somewhat different as they're all digital, Fast or High, only provide for a generic driver (instead of the class drivers like HID, etc.), operate at Fast or High speed and they use the c-coded FrameWorks to do most of the hard work in setting up and managing the USB. I'm not sure off-hand how much the CY8C24894 USB differs ... we'll see ...

Please excuse me if some of the questions seem dumb or insulting; it's not intentional, I've just got little information to go on or I'm thinking of the FX2LP equivalent.