IGNORED

Anything I should know about the 7800?

superjudge3

I really want to get a 7800 but I have no real knowledge of the system other than that it could have competed with the NES and its backwards compatible with the 2600.

Any basic facts/things I should be aware of before I buy one? Also, what's a fair price?

One more question, what games should I avoid? I'm sure there's plenty of good games but as with every system there's probably a few that I should stay away from.

By the way, I've read everything about the 7800 here on AA, so I know that much already.

Thanks

Any basic facts/things I should be aware of before I buy one? Also, what's a fair price?

Fair price? I'd say thirty bucks, assuming you get a small handful of games with it...

One more question, what games should I avoid? I'm sure there's plenty of good games but as with every system there's probably a few that I should stay away from.

Off the top of my head, I'd say Tower Toppler. Seriously, the 7800 version is impossibly difficult.

Oh...speaking of which....you might also want to avoid the US version of Impossible Mission. :)

(sigh) Tower Toppler is my favorite game. So get it.

Here is a link to my site... it's a big, somewhat amusing site all about the 7800 with reviews to every game and additional articles. Value others' opinions on this forum but value my opinion the highest. (just kidding)

In a nutshell, I would say many 7800 games are great, but just as many are god-awful. Do reasearch before you buy. I like the controllers, but many hate them... the system is compatible with 2600 controllers if the 7800 game you are playing only requires one button. The homebrew scene is picking up amazingly, old classic arcade games sometimes have awesome 2 player co-op modes, most original games are quirky and at worst are bad.

Cousin Vinnie

www.flipsiderunner.com/7800

Edited by Cousin Vinnie