IGNORED

Easiest joystick for Classic Gaming

missyrelm

Hi,

I am trying to help get my wife into classic gaming, but the joysticks are really bothering her.

She just got sorta used to the PS3 controllers when we bought a TI-99/4A and she *really* didn't like the TI joysticks at all.

I just ordered Y joystick cables for the TI which will allow it to use almost any classic joysticks for systems like the Atari, Commodore, and other ones as well.

Now I am trying to pick the best joysticks for the transition to classic gaming for her (and for me, I'm new to it too actaully).

There's so many options, from the new Atari joysticks made by 3rd parties or overhauled old ones, or joysticks made for other systems, and all kinds of 3rd party joysticks.

Searching for good 3rd party joysticks brought up the The ASCIIWARE Power Clutch SG, Epyx 500XJ,

the Flashback's joysticks, and the Model CX34, but these are more from searches for what some people have found as "the best" in their opinion, rather than the *easiest* for people new to classic gaming.

I know that of course this will be a matter of opinion, but hopefully some people here will give a place for us to start.

Any suggestions?

Edited by missyrelm

If she's used to the gamepad that ships with the Playstation, then it might be better to go for a Genesis or Master System gamepad to start with. Most people I know use what they're used to, unless forced to by gameplay considerations. I know people who prefer to use sticks when they have the option, and others who prefer to use gamepads, and then those who just don't care.

Some genesis controller don't play nice with Atari based controller ports. Old Sega brand 3 button should be OK, newer 6 buttons and almost all 3rd party controller may not work right. But if you can find Sega Genesis controller that works, the moon shaped controller should be very comfortable to use.