IGNORED

Atari 2600 clone with 444 games built in

recoil

Hi, this is my first post so go easy on me. I have been collecting old console stuff for a few years now, but don't know to much about it. I have just bought what i think is a clone of the 1982 black Atari 2600. The console has 444 games built in signs on it, and a 3 way switch with 128 games, 32 games, and 284 games possessions. Underneath it has a sticker with 2600B, and made in Taiwan. I am wondering if this is a rare console, or just a cheap copy. I have tried to attach photo's but am not sure if they will work.

Thanks, Chris.

atari.jpg

atari3.jpg

atari2.jpg

Edited by recoil

hi Chris,

Welcoem to the forum. And thanks for sharing your picture.

Where did you find such a find? what games are on the system?

I have never seen such a system, but the 2600 was copied/cloned a quite a bit overseas, and even some in the States.

Have you ever taken it apart? Is there a marking on the motherboard on who made it?

Delf

Hi Delf, thanks for the welcome. I live in Australia, and picked it up on the weekend at a market. It was in a box with a Sega Saturn, and about 5 games. I haven't tried it yet, so im not even sure if it works. I am wondering why they split the games up into 3 switch positions. No i haven't had it apart yet.

Chris.

Edited by recoil

my guess is that there are really only 3 different "games" on it. one game with 128 different variations, one game with 32 variations, and another with 284. but i could be wrong, as i have no idea, and have never seen one of those before.

Edited by opeygon

My guess is that the rear selector is probably for selecting the appropriate mode for 1: (128 in 1 cartridge) 2:(32 built in games multi rom) 3:(284 in 1 cartridge).

Then, with the chosen cart or internal rom in place you select the game on the menu using the "game switch" that's in place of the color / b&w.