IGNORED

Looking to get my 1st 7800... what to look for?

tremoloman2006

Hello everyone.

I am a total noob when it comes to the 7800. I've never seen or played one if my life but it has a ton of cool homebrews I have to have (Space Duel, Asteroids Deluxe, Pac-Man Collection to name a few).

I have a couple of questions:

1. What is a good price for a complete system currently?
  2. What do I need to look out for? (i.e. known problems)

Thank you for your input!

Best regards,

Tremoloman

First, you wont regret it!

There are three basic US (NTSC) models:

Atari CX7800 - Vastly modified and enhanced 2600 model. Two joystick ports on lower front panel. New chipset (except sound chip; pokey chips could be added to carts). Side expansion port for upgrades and computer add ons. Bundled accessories included two CX24 ProLine joysticks AC Adapter, switchbox, RCA connecting cable, and Pole Position II cartridge.

Atari CX7800 - Second Revision. Slightly revised mother board, added an addional timing circuit. Expansion port connector removed from mother board but is still etched. Shell has indentation of where expansion port was to be.

Atari CX7800 - Third Revision. As above but only a small "blemish" mark on shell.

Read the FAQ, software pt 4 for compatibility, as some 2600 games can have "issues", also some types of cart may be a tight fit.

The joysticks are a love or hate item, but any 2600 type will work

Edited by mimo

Best regards,

Tremoloman

#1. I've found them in the wild for very cheap. However, they seem to be going for a quite a bit on Ebay. I think your best bet is determining how you want your complete system, boxed or not. If you don't have any place in your area to find them and have to resort to buying online, scan ebay for pricing, or post here in the marketplace.