IGNORED

Local attached storage

This has been a problem for me since I discovered the ST computer. None of my floppy drives work, and they're too small anyway. I have a SatanDisk but don't really want to pay for HDDriver after paying so much for the SatanDisk itself. A harddrive would be good, but again software is the problem. The one thing I can think of (besides ghostlink and having a second whole computer there next to it) is to have a small single board computer act as a host for a media card that can attach (literally, as if a case extension) to the ST, and then ghostlink would be feasible for me.

It just seems wrong that so much time has passed and no internal drives have been developed for this great machine. Please correct me if I'm wrong, there. I have no knowledge of being able to open my case, attach a board somehow and implant a small hdd in there, which would be a great solution.

I have successfully term'd in to a Xenix box, and that would be great for a server/client setup, but then what to do with large programs after they transfer over?

Are there any solutions as far as this? I mean, not really expensive solutions. harddrives for these things are outrageous, and impractical (space issues).

Would an internally connected zip drive work as a floppy drive replacement? They use the same cable as a fdd... right?

Nathan

Well, an internal hard drive board would be much more expensive and hard (it would require quite a bit of soldering). There are such solutions. Using ghostlink also is not feasable for anything other than transferring files. Ghostlink doesn't allow executing programs remotely. Basically the cheapest solution is HDDriver and Satandisk. It's unfortunate that SD isn't AHDI compatible, which I believe should have been the case. Last but not least, there is an external cartridge port solution.

And zip drives won't work as you plan sorry. You will need a scsi zip setup...