IGNORED

Wizard Prototype BINs

Hornpipe2

Got a question about the two Wizard ROMs I have. These are straight from Rom's Collection V2. The second one ( [a] version ) is the same as what AtariAge hosts, although on AtariAge it is an overdump.

There is a one-byte difference in these files, the second-to-last (byte 2047). It's some kind of lookup table, I think, and is $13 in the [a] version, but $00 in the base. I do not know what this controls.

Can anyone help me understand either a) which of these versions is 'more recent', or b) what the gameplay difference is between them? My instinct says that the $13 is the more recent value, because as a programmer I'd be more inclined to put 0 for a value in a table that I was unsure of rather than $13, but this is completely unscientific.

Wizard__1980___Atari__Chris_Crawford___Prototype_.bin

Wizard__1980___Atari__Chris_Crawford___Prototype___a_.bin

I too would like to know where the two versions came from. This might help you Hornpipe2:

http://www.atariage.com/forums/index.php?s...t&p=1471526

Interesting!

Like the Indy 500 dumps in that thread, we have a chance at figuring this one out. According to the disassembly the different byte is not (just) the BRK vector - something in the code is actually reading that data and using it. Perhaps someone more used to reading distella-generated ASM files could look into it and offer some insight.

Here's the disassembly of the [a] version, produced by DISTELLA.EXE -pafs WIZ.BIN > WIZ.S

Check out the very last line: LF7FE: .byte $13,$24

In the non-[a] version this is LF7FE: .byte $00, $24

It is referenced in line 286:

LDA LF7FE,X ;4

STA $CD ;3

(I believe X is holding the current frame - loaded from location $CE - which cycles 0-1-0-1 around line 282 LF1C3)

$CD is used before then in at least one place:

LF1AD: DEC $CD ;5

BEQ LF1C3 ;2