IGNORED

Which system to try and program for?

CrazyImpmon

I have some experience in 6502 assembly (once built a small functioning computer from ground up with only a 16 keys keypad (0-9 and A-F) and a 2 digit LED readout.)

The problem with Atari 2600 is it's wonky design and that you must be careful when coding with video as you got to control every scan line. One cycle off and the whole picture rolls. :P

I could try and program for 5200 or 7800 but there isn't a whole lot of detailed information that I can find.

What do you think is easier? 2600, 5200, or 7800? After wasting several hours on the new Euchre game, I think I could add another card game to 2600's list: Gin

CrazyImpmon wrote:

I could try and program for 5200 or 7800 but there isn't a whole lot of detailed information that I can find.  

What!??!?!? Not a whole lot of detailed info on the 5200?? A bunch of us have been busting are arses to get as much 5200/8-bit info on the Net as we can. :)

Go check out:

www.atariarchives.org

and

www.atarimagazines.com

It'll take you months to go through it all.

Enjoy!,

Allan

That's right! Only a little over a year ago, and there was hardly ANY 5200 info. It wasn't even all that clear what the differences were between 5200 and Atari 8bit then. The info is all out there now, and it's time to reap the rewards of those efforts! So get cracking on 5200 coding!

Just think, starting a month ago, looking over the next 1 year foreseeable future, the following 5200 homebrews will have been made available:

1. Castle Blast

2. Haunted House II 3-D

3. Koffi: Yellow Kopter

4. Solitaire

5. Cypher (if Matt gets his head out of prototypes land) :)

6. Swordquest: Airworld

7. Adventure II

Sorry if I missed one. Those are the ones I'm aware of. Yours could be #8.