IGNORED

Where are all the Falcons?

Hi,

I'm a newbie (well, new to this forum, I first used an ST when they first came out - which makes me feel rather old!).

I've currently got my eye on a rather nice 1040ste that I am hoping is still there come pay-day, as I have decided to give in to my teenage urge to get an STe - my father wouldn't let me get one for "study" when I was a kid, as he thought getting a 386 PC was better sense. I guess the PC was good training for my IT career, but I could have got a low-end Macintosh for what we paid for that DOS/Windows 3.1 Piece of Junk....but, I digress.

Ever since I first saw one (many moons ago in, I believe, ACE Magazine), I really wanted to get a Falcon. just a bog standard 14mb job with maybe a small hard-drive to store games and files on. I'd like to do some coding and suchlike and this seems to be just about my ideal machine - advanced enough to be useful, yet still carrying that retro vibe...

However, since I actually got a job that paid enough to fund a hobby I am stumped if I can find a Falcon to buy! I've trawled eBay, craiglsit, loot, gumtree, ebid...you name it, I've looked. The only machines I have seen are in the US, overpriced and would require me to replace the Power Supply... help! Surely there must be somewhere/someone that has one lying around?

From what I have read - it seems that a realistic cost for a bog-standard Falcon would be £100-150, but I'm looking for advice and a little help - I'll busy myself with the STe and keep an eye out in the meantime.

Cheers!

yeah... can understand what you mean... i would also like to buy some more Atari hardware, but the prices are crazy sometimes...