IGNORED

1-pixel-high sprite scale examples

nitrofurano

I were looking for all examples possible, and i found none with 1-pixel-high scaled sprites - the smaller one seems to be 2-pixel-high (the most usual)

Is there some limitation of batariBasic, or there is some way to define x and y sprite scales, and having as well 1-pixel-high sprites available?

If possible, please answer also with working snippets (i'm a newbie! =) )

Thanks! =)

I were looking for all examples possible, and i found none with 1-pixel-high scaled sprites - the smaller one seems to be 2-pixel-high (the most usual)

Is there some limitation of batariBasic, or there is some way to define x and y sprite scales, and having as well 1-pixel-high sprites available?

Thanks! =)

When you say "sprite scale", are you referring to the TIA registers NUSIZ0 and NUSIZ1? If that's the case, you might want to consider using either the missiles or the ball to create the graphic you need. For instance:

NUSIZ0 = $10;(missile is 2 pixels wide)
 NUSIZ0 = $20;(missile is 4 pixels wide)
 NUSIZ0 = $30;(missile is 8 pixels wide)

Or you could use the CTRLPF register to reshape the ball:

CTRLPF = $11;(ball is 2 pixels wide) 
 CTRLPF = $21;(ball is 4 pixels wide) 
 CTRLPF = $31;(ball is 8 pixels wide)

If all you want to do is scale a single pixel, it seems like a little bit of a waste to use up a whole sprite, unless that is essential to your game. What is the effect you would like to achieve?

If you want to learn more about TIA registers in bB, here's a link.

Cheers,

Jarod.

Edited by jrok

about widht scale you answered a question i'd ask later - but thanks for the advance! =)

What i were asking were about height scale...

for example, from this picture:

http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/8263/ex...sicspritpo2.png

most of the examples i'm seeing about using batariBasic is using the sprite 5 (1x width and 2x height) - and what you said were about sprites 5, 6, 7 and 8