IGNORED

Help! Is my disk drive dead?!

King Atari

I'm an absolute complete novice when it comes to the ST line, the consoles were always my area. As far as the computers go, I only have limited experience with the older machines. I did a search, but didn't find much help, please forgive me if this has been covered.

Anyway, yesterday, I picked up a pretty impressive lot at a thrift shop: 520 ST, a monitor, mouse, joystick, and an absolute ton of software, for $25. There's a lot of stuff there, so hopefully I got a good deal (the lady even threw in a couple non-Atari related items at no extra cost). I get home, set it up, and after a little bit of experimenting, the system was up and running. Problem is, whenever I put a disk in the internal harddrive (no external one at all here), and click the Drive A icon, it takes a moment before giving me a 'not responding' message. The drive sounds like it's trying to do something, and I've read these ST drives were pretty quiet in the first place, but I don't know. I tried a few different disks and got the same message each time.

Am I just missing some simple step to get a disk running? I figure the drive is just plain dead, but like I said, I have almost no experience with these computers, so I wanted to check in here with the experts before giving the machine up as a lost cause (I won't trash it, though, I do like having it. I just wish that, you know, I could actually play it ;) !).

Sorry for what's probably a really stupid question to all of you. Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

If it is an external SF3xx Drive with a big trapezoid shaped eject button, it likely has a loose or broken drive belt.

Open the plastic case.

The drive mech inside will have a metal shield on the bottom.

Remove the shield

You should be able to see and examine the belt.