IGNORED

IGN: Revising History: The Crash of '83

Atari2008

The Crash of '83 is usually debated in this forum, and I'm always intrigued by it. Since I didn't live through it, I have no personal experience to go on, but the official stories of how games like Pac-Man and ET sunk a whole industry always sounded like a stretch to me, so it's nice to see this article that offers a more balanced approach. Of course, I'd love to hear what the experts in this forum think. :cool: Enjoy!

IGN: Revising History: The Crash of '83

I think E.T. is hard but fun. Are people going to hate me for this?

Nope.

E.T. is an OK game that is scapegoated for a lot of things. Taken as a game, it isn't half bad - it has a good, if overcomplicated, concept, great graphics, good sounds, some control issues and huge, gigantic design flaws (Most annoying pits ever? Confusing icons? Yes! And yes!). Put it all together and, without the huge license and massive hype, it would be remembered much like Montezuma's Revenge - a pretty good little adventure game. But, with the hype, it has become The Legend: The Game. That. Killed. An. Entire. Industry. Bwaahaaahahahahahahahaha!

But anyway, AtariAge probably has the highest concentration, in all of space and time, of people that like that game. So no, no hate. ;)

EDIT: Just read the IGN article and...it's not half bad. :) I don't agree with everything he wrote, but it's a lot better than most of the "history" you get from the gaming rags these days.

Edited by vdub_bobby

Some of the comments from the readers are still pretty terrible here though. Case in point:

Why did these consoles and the companies that made them fail? Why did American videogame makers pack it up and go home?