IGNORED

800xl recommended joystick?

murphy245

Wow i didnt think a genesis pad would work.

I just looked at that poll the traditional CX-40 won,doesnt that only have 1 button? will it be sufficient for my xl? their must be games that need 2 buttons or something?

In some games the keys on the keyboard would be used for extra functions. Defender is an example I believe. I'm new to the Atari 8-bit computer line myself so I'm just learning too :D

will it be sufficient for my xl? their must be games that need 2 buttons or something?

The 800/XL/XE lines (insofar as stock/normal capabilities) can't read more than one joystick button per port, so you aren't going to find any games that would require anything different.

As far as the 'best' I highly recommend the Suncom Slik Stiks. :)

Edited by remowilliams

will it be sufficient for my xl? their must be games that need 2 buttons or something?

The 800/XL/XE lines (insofar as stock/normal capabilities) can't read more than one joystick button per port, so you aren't going to find any games that would require anything different.

As far as the 'best' I highly recommend the Suncom Slik Stiks. :)

aha theirs my answer,thanks for that.

I will buy the traditional atari joystick as well as the one you mentioned,i already had my eye on one of those.

CX-40 fan here, especially the "GOLD" version from Best Electrics.

Second choice would be a CX-42 as sold with the flashback 2 consol

Tac-2 is awesome, as is my Radica Space Invaders stick that has been converted to an atari 2600/7800 compatible.

That is another point to make actually, any 2600 stick will work with the 8bit computers