IGNORED

Can you run non-cycle-predictable code in the VBL and/or overscan?

Sdw

I'm a newbie when it comes to 2600-coding, but I've got some 6502 experience from C64 coding and after spending a few hours glancing through the Andrew Davie tutorials (very good btw!), I have a general grasp of things and have got some code up and running.

However, I was wondering - is there no way to be able to run segments of code that you don't have cycle-exact predictions for? During the drawing of the screen I guess you need to be in cycle-exact mode, however in the overscan and VBL areas, I'd like to be able to do something like start a timer or set an IRQ (but the 2600 doesn't have any IRQs...?), then run some code that I know will take less than 30 rasterlines (but not EXACTLY how much) and then somehow use the timer/IRQ to get back in sync for the three lines of vertical vertical synchro or start of screen, depending on if you are in VBL or overscan.

Can this be somehow done? Or is the only solution to split your code into segments that are less one scanline of cycles and use a series of STA WSYNC and keep the line-count intact?

-edit-

Well, what do you know, I might have been onto something after all. I found this quote in the "main" 2600 programming forum:

But for the most part, the timer is usually only used to time the overscan and vertical blank periods. Set a timer, do a whole lot of stuff involving branches, then eat up the remaining time...each frame will reach the end of the loop at exactly the same time.

That is pretty much exactly how I wanted it to work. Now I need to learn how to set up the timer, what values are appropriate for a full VBL/full overscan (I'm programming for PAL)?

Edited by Sdw

That is pretty much exactly how I wanted it to work. Now I need to learn how to set up the timer, what values are appropriate for a full VBL/full overscan (I'm programming for PAL)?