IGNORED

Help with choosing games

daznic

Hi all, total newbie here to atari but with lots of other 8 bit experience ( C64, spectrum, Amstrad )

I`ve just got my first Atari, a 65XE and I`m waiting delivery of an SIO2PC cable.

I`m searching for the best games to try on my new toy but I`m a bit confused, there are so many Atari models with different capabilities and memory, but I want to find games that were specifically made for my machine ( 800xl equivalent ) I`ve downloaded lots of games to try ( searching for "Atari 8 bit games" ) only to find they are early pre-800xl games and not utilizing the full capability and memory of my machine.

I`m not asking for a full list of games or anything, just some pointers in the right direction would be great !!

Cheers !!

Hi all, total newbie here to atari but with lots of other 8 bit experience ( C64, spectrum, Amstrad )

I`ve just got my first Atari, a 65XE and I`m waiting delivery of an SIO2PC cable.

I`m searching for the best games to try on my new toy but I`m a bit confused, there are so many Atari models with different capabilities and memory, but I want to find games that were specifically made for my machine ( 800xl equivalent ) I`ve downloaded lots of games to try ( searching for "Atari 8 bit games" ) only to find they are early pre-800xl games and not utilizing the full capability and memory of my machine.

I`m not asking for a full list of games or anything, just some pointers in the right direction would be great !!

Cheers !!

Since you got an SIO2PC, have you considered a maxflash cart? If you are up to spending another $44, most of my favorites are on this image.

Well since you have a 65XE I would think you have the base 64K ram to run pretty much anything. Most games tend to aim for <64K as a rule, but if you like demos you'll want to mod it up to more.

So, when you have your SIO2PC setup running, a few games I hit up on my APE playlist:

Yoomp! (just... gorgeous. I can see into infinity...)