IGNORED

Commodore 64 problems (garbage screen on startup)

A while back, my girlfriend and I brought her family's old C64 home with us. We finally got around to checking it out a couple of weeks ago, once we picked up a switch box (since we don't have the AV cable).

Unfortunately, something inside it seems to be fried. As soon as it's powered on, it fills the screen with either rapidly-changing garbage characters (75% of the time), or a blank, single-colored screen, sometimes with a border (25% of the time). In the former case, random low-level audio noises were also audible IIRC, but I'm not sure whether they were coming from the sound hardware.

I know working C64s are relatively easy to come by, but this one has sentimental value, so it'd be nice to get it working again. What's the likeliest culprit? I have very very little C64 experience, and I'm not a hardware expert by a long shot, but I remember reading that certain chips inside are sometimes seated poorly, or otherwise tend to fail. It's entirely possible this computer was retired because of a hardware failure; it certainly doesn't look like it was ever abused, and it was stored in a dry and safe place (attic). The junk I'm seeing on screen is a mix of semigraphics and letter characters, like what one sometimes sees from a CoCo gone bad.

Edited by thegoldenband

• 2 months later...

I remember the first computer I was supposed to get at kid's age had that same problem. It was a used C64 as well, and before it was moved over to our place it worked. So I figure maybe it is something that has gone bad during transport?

I remember discovering the charcter patterns changing between powerups and trying powering it off and on repeatedly, each time hoping the next time I power it on, the characters would "behave properly", returning the computer to working order... but much to my dismay, that didn't work :sad: :D