IGNORED

software engineer considering 5200 coding. where to start?

Hi Karl,

Do you want to go with Assembly or with Calamari's 5200BAS Basic compiler? Well if you want to try 5200BAS, here's the link to Calamari's site.

http://www.azstarnet.com/~jeffryj/5200bas.html

There you should find links to DASM and TASM cross-compilers if you want to program in assembly.

Also here's a whole ^%*& load of docs.

www.atariarchives.org

DeREAtari is especially useful.

Allan

Huh ? I thought you said you were a Software Engineer. How come you don't know any assembler ?

A lot of software engineers and programmers are taught Java and Visual BASIC then let out into the wide world. Very few actually understand what goes on "under the hood". I'm a software engineer, but i've always been interested in electronics and system architecture. I know what makes computers tick and I know how to program machines in assembly. In the old days, all software engineers knew this stuff, but a lot of the people writing the software of tomorrow are getting further and further away from the hardware guys.

A good thing or a bad thing? Well, we'll see :D

Huh ? I thought you said you were a Software Engineer. How come you don't know any assembler ?

Essentially, I have a BSEE and I took some CS courses.

I know alot about optimizing code, OO, etc.. But knowing assembly these days isn't really needed, so it's barely tought. Well, I never took advanced CS courses, so I better not put my foot in my mouth. My only experience was in a Sophmore EE lab, so I've pretty much forgotten everything about assembly.

Software engineering and OO design don't really require Assembly knowledge, so there's not really a need to know it on the professional level. I want to do some 5200 coding, in part to learn, but because I'll enjoy doing so.