IGNORED

How to do Efficient Bankswitching ?

dbks

Quick intro: I am new here and this is my first post. Awesome site. So a few days ago I started a quick 2600 project in bB. From googling I was eventually led here and I've enjoyed reading all these topics.

I am a decently experienced programmer who has used a variety of languages and bB was easy to jump into. However, I am still murky about bankswitching. Basically, how does one utilize it efficiently? I understand the mechanics behind it so I realize that it's best to be organized and efficient, but how?

Should I view the situation as each bank should be self contained, ie process only one 'mini' game where these 'mini' games are tied together to form the complete game? For example, let's say someone wanted to make a simple, retro rpg. Would world navigation subroutines be on one bank and inventory screen on another and, let's say, entering buildings and navigating the building on another, etc?

That seems logical and it would cut down on the bankswitching. But what if each time thru the game loop, you averaged n bankswitches. For what n is too high?

Do you ever intentionally duplicate subroutines on different banks just so you could avoid bankswitching?

I am trying to plan things well to avoid bankswitching, but sometimes it is unavoidable it seems. I realize that I will have to test these things as I progress, but some words of advice will greatly aid my learning curve, if someone cares to enlighten me.

Thanks.

• Like 1