IGNORED

TIA Color Charts and Tools

Below is a link to a new page I put together. The color charts are interactive. Click on a color and the hexadecimal color value will be displayed.

The Atari 2600 color compatibility tools can help you quickly find colors that go great together (possibly saving you a lot of time and energy). Just click on the colors to see the results displayed in the test area. Notice the hexadecimal color values that appear above the palettes. Once you find the right colors, simply copy and paste the hexadecimal color values into your Atari 2600 program.

The NTSC / PAL color conversion tool works in a similar way to the others. Click on a color in either palette and the equivalent hexadecimal color values will be displayed. When there is no equivalent PAL color value, the next best thing is substituted.

www.randomterrain.com/atari-2600-memories-tia-color-charts.html

Edited by Random Terrain

And I though I had gone crazy...

Last night I started coding my first 2600 demo. I expected the same color pattern as on Atari XL but it was different. Then, when I reduced the number of scanlines in the kernel it look different again!

Is the following correct:

- NTSC is detected by having 262 effective scanlines and has the same color pattern as Atari XL ($00 = grey, $30 = red, ...). Seems so from the color chart.

- PAL has, well, how many scan lines on VCS?

What is more common/would you suggest: Code for NTSC or for PAL? And will NTSC code run and display correctly on an European (PAL) real 2600?

And I though I had gone crazy...

Last night I started coding my first 2600 demo. I expected the same color pattern as on Atari XL but it was different. Then, when I reduced the number of scanlines in the kernel it look different again!

Is the following correct:

- NTSC is detected by having 262 effective scanlines and has the same color pattern as Atari XL ($00 = grey, $30 = red, ...). Seems so from the color chart.