IGNORED

A programming teacher

Okay, if there's one thing I've wanted to know for years, is how to program games for the Atari 2600. It may seem like a losing venture for me (considering I'm only 14), but I would absolutely LOVE to know how to make games for the Atari 2600. I have so many ideas, and I have no idea how to program. So what I ask of you, the community, is to, step by step, instruct how to program for the 2600.

Like: What I need to program, how to use it efficiently, etc, etc. I haven't the slightest clue how to program, and I have never programmed anything beyond WarioWare DIY before. I am a total beginner. But please, I dont want to hire anyone, just give some tips or something. I really want to program. I've wanted to for so long. So if anyone here would be kind enough to offer some advice to a fellow classic gamer, it would be much obliged.

Thanks,

galymcd13

Such question has been posted recently: http://www.atariage.com/forums/topic/181902-im-officially-looking-to-become-a-programmer/

You can choose for programming in BAtari basic or assembly. Random terrain has put some nice tutorials for both methods on his website: http://www.randomterrain.com/atari-2600-memories.html

• 1 month later...

i would start out becoming fluent in BAtari BASIC and then Reading ATARI ROOTS on atariarchives.org and learning 6502 assembly language. (Language that they programmed Atari 2600,5200,7800, NES C64, Apple ][, and other computers with) I've almost spent a year with bB and i am almost completely Fluent. But i'm no Random Terrain at bB. but i wrote my first game within a week and it wasnt even 100 lines long, so i seeked help, tried new things in my code, and a game emerged from it. Learning languages like this can take 1+ years, and the road is long, but if you put effort, it is possible.

But I'm no Random Terrain at bB.

Neither am I. :lol: