IGNORED

Running Roms On Commodore 64

I just recently got a Commodore 64, and I am quite new to the retro computing scene, so I was wondering if I could get some questions answered. First off, what is the easiest way to run roms on a C64? From what I hear, there are some really impressive tech demos and homebrew games for the system, and I want to be able to play them on my C64. Second, on a related note, if I have a floppy drive for the C64, can I just put a C64 rom onto a floppy disc on a Windows machine and it will play on the C64? Or does the system take a proprietary floppy disc format?

I'm assuming you mean disk images and not ROMs..

Check out the uIEC/SD from Retro Innovations.

http://store.go4retro.com/products/uIEC%7B47%7DSD.html

Second, on a related note, if I have a floppy drive for the C64, can I just put a C64 rom onto a floppy disc on a Windows machine and it will play on the C64? Or does the system take a proprietary floppy disc format?

I'm 99% certain that you can't do that, although I've never tried. :)

Second, on a related note, if I have a floppy drive for the C64, can I just put a C64 rom onto a floppy disc on a Windows machine and it will play on the C64? Or does the system take a proprietary floppy disc format?