IGNORED

TI99/4a with bad joystick port

JonnyBritish

Today I received an original TI99 in the silver case with black keyboard. All works fine with one exception. The up direction does not work on the joystick port.

Wondering if there is an easy fix on this or is it a dead unit.

Luckily I have found two beige Ti99/4a's without the 2.2 ROM so good so far, sucks to dump a TI99/4a though because of a joystick port failure on one direction.

Today I received an original TI99 in the silver case with black keyboard. All works fine with one exception. The up direction does not work on the joystick port.

Wondering if there is an easy fix on this or is it a dead unit.

Luckily I have found two beige Ti99/4a's without the 2.2 ROM so good so far, sucks to dump a TI99/4a though because of a joystick port failure on one direction.

Always the way. You post a question then find the answer...of course as a TI99/4a newbie I did not realise having alpha lock on would stop the up on the joystick working.

Oh well now i have a totally working and shiny silver and black 4a :-)

There is a quick and semi-easy hack involving a single cut trace and a single diode which allows the ALPHA LOCK to be engaged without interfering with the joystick. Programs that detect the ALPHA LOCK state cannot tell if you have this hack in place or not and will warn you, anyway. I have a few photos of this hack done on one of the several keyboards used in the TI, the original project is from http://www.mainbyte.com/ti99/console/alpha_lock.html