IGNORED

Non Techincal Playfield Design

Aidy

Hola! I'm very new to the 2600 programming, and a friend an I are collaborating on a new 2600 game, I'm designing the game itself and he's programming it.

As a non-programmer, could anyone recommend a package I could use to design the playing field and sprites, I've tried a few like TIA Paint, but this only allows me to draw with one colour, sorry if I sound a bit stupid. I've kind of got my head around the fact that width-wise everything has to be 8pixels etc.. but I'm currently drawing everything out on paper and could do with a slightly non-techy way of creating the designs which would adhere to the 2600 format and that my friend could pick up and run with.

Any help appreciated :-)

Unfortunately it is very easy to create a mock-up of a game on the 2600 that the machine can't actually do. As an artist you also need to know about sprite widths, sprites per line, sprite flickering, player, missile and ball limitations, playfield widths, whether the kernel is 1, 2, 3, 4, X lines etc. You also need to discuss with the programmer the limitations of the kernel that he/she is writing to drive the game's screen. Graphics and the kernel are very closely tied on the 2600.

• Like 1

Unfortunately it is very easy to create a mock-up of a game on the 2600 that the machine can't actually do. As an artist you also need to know about sprite widths, sprites per line, sprite flickering, player, missile and ball limitations, playfield widths, whether the kernel is 1, 2, 3, 4, X lines etc. You also need to discuss with the programmer the limitations of the kernel that he/she is writing to drive the game's screen. Graphics and the kernel are very closely tied on the 2600.

After finding out those things, Visual batari Basic could help:

http://www.randomterrain.com/atari-2600-memories-batari-basic-vbb.html

It has a playfield editor and a sprite editor.

• 2 weeks later...

Graphics and the kernel are very closely tied on the 2600.