630 LDA #0

640 STA #$022F ; Turns off ANTIC

650 LDA #$DLIST&255

660 STA $0230 ;Storing starting address of custom Display List - low byte

670 LDA #$DLIST/256 ; High byte

680 STA $0231 ; Storing High byte

690 LDA #$22

700 STA $022F ; Turn ANTIC back on

I built this based on an example in Atari Roots. What I don't understand are lines 650 and 670. I know I've specified $7BA8 as the starting address for the DL in my list, but how on earth do the LDA instructions in lines 650 and 670 come up with these numbers? And is the BYTE directive the way to do this anyway? Apologies in advance if I seem like a total newb.

number & 255 gives the low byte of a 16-bit number.

number / 256 gives the high byte (the result is truncated, not rounded, so e.g. 32766/256 gives 127)

In the case you have, it's dividing a label value - that's the usual usage, the label doesn't have to have a .byte associated, it could just as easily be a program instruction.

In more modern Assemblers, you can usually just use <label and >label to give the low/high byte values - saves a bit of typing and makes the program easier to read.

650 LDA #$DLIST&255

660 STA $0230 ;Storing starting address of custom Display List - low byte

670 LDA #$DLIST/256 ; High byte

680 STA $0231 ; Storing High byte

690 LDA #$22

700 STA $022F ; Turn ANTIC back on

I built this based on an example in Atari Roots. What I don't understand are lines 650 and 670. I know I've specified $7BA8 as the starting address for the DL in my list, but how on earth do the LDA instructions in lines 650 and 670 come up with these numbers?