IGNORED

Super Video 2.0 mod gone bad

dkerfoot

So I decided to do the 8-bit Alchemist's Super Video 2.0 mod on my 800xl. Things seemed to be going well until I plugged it back in and I now have a very crisp clean monochrome output. Color is gone whether I use the monitor port or the RF jack.

I have checked and double-checked and I see nothing visibly wrong. I was an electronics tech in a past life, but it has been many years and I don't know much about the workings of this video circuit. Does anyone know the circuit well enough to narrow down the possibilities (based on sharp mono picture but no color)?

I do have an o-scope available if needed.

Thanks for any help or suggestions.

-Doug

PAL or NTSC machine?

Do you have a link to the page where you got the instructions? There's a few variations around.

I did one of the mods too and found a similar problem, I only get proper colour representation when using the Colour/Luma from the monitor port.

IMO the mod in itself is kinda flawed because the colour in itself isn't really at fault, the main problem is lack of definition with the luma portion.

So the solution would be to leave the colour alone for the most part, although I'm not sure you can do one without affecting the other.

I'm not sure about the SV2.0 mod, but some mods remove the chroma-luma mixing at the composite jack to provide a cleaner s-video signal. If that is the case, then you won't have composite until you restore the resistor and capacitor between the two signals.

EDIT: Composite is made up of a chroma-luma mix via components R56, C54 and R67. The problem is, luminance will show evidence of the color carrier if these components are installed due to the crude mixing method used.

Edited by Bryan

Oddly enough, I had a very similar problem with my 800XL, albeit mine did not have super-video 2.0 or any of those parts-ripping variants.