IGNORED

SIO2SD firmware update issues

Zzalg_Repus

Hello there!

I'm using a SIO2SD interface with firmware V2.4_07 which I'd like to update. However, upon pressing Shift+K3 in setup mode nothing happens.

Any help?

Thanks,

Zz

Not 100% sure but I think the key combo is Shift+K2 not K3 at least it was in some versions.

Edited by kheffington

Just tried it and the only way I could get it to upgrade was to hold down the shift on the SIO2SD while powering up the Atari and having it enter into configuration mode then hitting shift/K3 with sio2sd.bin in root of card. With the 2 version it the K4 held at start up may get it to configuration mode instead of the shift key.

Don't know if that is the correct way but it worked.

Edited by kheffington

Thanks for your replies, everyone. Unfortunately, none of them did the trick. Any new ideas?

I'm a bit stumped here, because I used to upgrade my SIO2SD all the time. I'm no newbie to this.

Can you still boot ATR's from this?

Do the buttons still allow you to assign ATR's to different drives?

What does the display look like?

Can you still boot ATR's from this?

Do the buttons still allow you to assign ATR's to different drives?

What does the display look like?

Everything else works perfectly. Mounting and booting ATRs, the in-build loader for ATRs, setting different speeds etc. The display is fine. Just the upgrade won't do. :(

I had the same problem upgrading to v2.5.

In the end, I worked out I'd not renamed the .bin file and had just downloaded it straight onto the card, leaving the original name intact.

I'd need to check but the file name of the firmware needs to be something like sio2sd.bin. The upgrade process looks specifically for a .bin file with this name.

If you've done the same as I did, you'll need to rename the file before the existing firmware will know it's there!

Hi again!