IGNORED

New Atari 2600 Mappers and Hardware Document

kevtris

Well I finally finished my "mega" document on mappers (bankswitching) and various pieces of peripheral hardware.

In it is all the mappers I know about, and the Supercharger, Supercharger demo unit, the tape format for same, and the Compumate.

If there's anything I missed lemme know and I will add it.

http://blog.kevtris....0%20Mappers.txt

• Like 5

As for 4A50, writes and reads to the same memory location are handled by an ingenious method called "magic writes." I'm not an expert on them, but as I understand it requires a FPGA or other hardware with bus hold circuitry (which provides a weak pullup/pulldown to the last logic level asserted on the bus).

As I understand, it works like this: Pretend the access is a read for the first part of the cycle - fetch the data and put it on the bus. Then, float the bus before any contention occurs (writes don't use the bus until late in the cycle.)

Then, late in the cycle, pretend the access is a write. Grab the value, store it to cart RAM.

If the access was actually a read, the bus hold will keep the value active so the 6507 can fetch it. And, the same value will be written back to cart RAM.

If the access was actually a write, the 6507 will override the bus hold circuitry, and the value will be written to cart RAM.

Pretty clever, huh? (oh, and I think this is right, but anyone correct me if I'm wrong!)

Do the F8, F6 and F4 mappers have any reset circuitry? In other words, do they start on a random bank or is there a RC thing on /RST to ensure the latch is inited to the zeroth bank?

For Minutes and a Bit I assumed F8 starts on a random bank and put a jump to the bank 0 in bank 1's Start. I've seen demos assume otherwise (probably due to testing on a Harmony).

Do the F8, F6 and F4 mappers have any reset circuitry? In other words, do they start on a random bank or is there a RC thing on /RST to ensure the latch is inited to the zeroth bank?