IGNORED

If I have a 2600... why get a 7800?

JohnnyRockets

Hi!

I am a super newbie, so please be gentle with your answers, my intention is not to offend anyone with this question.

From a "fun" factor and a "I'd like to program it" standpoint, why would one buy an Atari 7800 if the already had the 2600 (I just bought a 2600 recently)?

Thanks!

JR

I have found the reverse question: If you have a 7800 that can play 7800 and 2600 games, why get a 2600?

Well, the fact is, the 7800 can play about 99.7% of the 2600 games with no problem so I have a 7800 when playing either.

But then if you have a 5200 with a fan made 7800 adaptor, you don't need either a 7800 or 2600 anymore. ;)

• Like 1

To play 7800 games, of course!

Long answer: the 7800 was made backward-compatible with the 2600 so it could play old 2600 games, but it can also play 7800 games which make use of its more advanced graphics. See here for a list of the games that were released for the 7800, and here for a series of reviews published by The Video Game Critic. The 7800 has a lot more to offer than 2600 compatibility, including some excellent arcade ports and (especially with the upcoming 7800XM) some great homebrew games!

And yes, I tend to use the 7800 for playing both 2600 and 7800 games; I haven't had any of my 2600s hooked up for quite some time. There are a few 2600 titles that aren't compatible with the 7800 (Robot Tank comes to mind), but I've had no issues otherwise.

• Like 4