IGNORED

Best Use For a 32x

genesisguy

So I picked one up finally. Having owned a Genesis since 1991 I figured it was about time I got one. Now I'm new to the 32x library but right off the bat I've noticed this thing makes my Genesis games look much better. Gone are all the rainbow bands and verticle bars on certain blues and blacks. Anyone use one at all times? I'm thinking about just leaving this sucker in my Genesis at all times.

Yeah, they are cool. The best use is buy an Everdrive multicart, leave the 32X and multicart plugged in at all times, and enjoy almost the entire Genesis/32X/SMS library without ever having to switch a cart. The only thing that doesn't work with the 32X is the Genesis version of Virtua Racing, because than includes a chip that is similar to the 32X and they don't get along. With the Everdrive you can always play the 32X Virtua Racing Deluxe, which is the better version anyway.

• Like 1

Yeah, they are cool. The best use is buy an Everdrive multicart, leave the 32X and multicart plugged in at all times, and enjoy almost the entire Genesis/32X/SMS library without ever having to switch a cart. The only thing that doesn't work with the 32X is the Genesis version of Virtua Racing, because than includes a chip that is similar to the 32X and they don't get along. With the Everdrive you can always play the 32X Virtua Racing Deluxe, which is the better version anyway.

Ha! I could not have said it better, myself! I have the same hardware. The Genesis version of Virtua Racing is respectable - to be sure. However, the 32X version - fortunately - pretty much the same thing with better graphics. So you're not missing anything. The 32X version of Virtua Racing is - strangely enough - the best home port of the title. The Saturn version was "outsourced" to whoever (I had it and was aghast at how bad it sucked). As I vaguely recall, the graphics sucked, the control sucked, and the disc loading times were atrociously long and obnoxiously frequent.