IGNORED

Colecovision Controller Information

Draugr

Hi everyone.

I'm tossing around the idea of making my own custom Colecovision (Super Action Controller comaptible) arcade sticks. What I'd like to know is if there is information on the wiring so I know what wires go to the directional stick, the 4 fire buttons and of course the numeric pad.

I've never done something like this before, but I did put together my own arcade stick in my Bartop Arcade cabinet. I don't think this will be too difficult to do. What I'm hoping for is to not make the casing too large. I'm hoping to be able to keep the housing to a shape similar to the original Atari 2600 CX-40 controllers. You know a square base, but a tad bigger to at least fit the 4 fire buttons and then the numeric keypad.

If I can make my Colecovision compatible arcade stick the one thing that I'll truly love is that the stick itself can be used in real 4-way mode or 8 way. I'm excited about the 4-way mode for games like Donkey Kong, Pac-man Collection and other arcade games that used 4-way joysticks in the arcade. I'm hoping to negate that annoying split second delay that sometimes happens when trying to turn pac-man with a 8-way joystick, etc... :) I know it makes a big difference in my arcade cabinet as the 4-way mode seems a lot better when responding to movement over it's 8-way mode in a 4-way game.

John

• 2 weeks later...

Yeah, this page:

http://www.colecovis...k/joysticks.htm

has some general information, including a nice PDF of the regular controller:

http://www.colecovis...oController.pdf

For the super action controller, the extra two fire buttons are actually implemented as keypad 13 and 14 (so you can't press both at the same time, but either one can be pressed in combination with the first two buttons (arm and fire buttons).

Finally there is the spinner, which has a direction, and an interrupt pin.

From the Adam Technical Manual ( http://drushel.cwru.edu/atm/atm.html ):