IGNORED

Assymetrical Static Playfields

Lost Monkey

I am studying Atari 2600 games with assymetrical playfields and multiple sprites for a project I am working on. I am not interested in moving playfields - they should be static, and involve full interaction with the sprites... IE playfield appears within the same scanlines as the sprites.

If you can think of any titles I should check out, please list them here.

A good example of what I am looking for would be would be Yars' Revenge.

Thanks!

Skeleton uses a reflected asymetrical playfield to draw the maze and both player sprites for the Skeleton.

Ms Pac Man uses an asymetrical playfield for rows with dots, and a reflected symetrical playfield for the rest of the maze.

It is very, very difficult to combine an asymetrical playfield with sprite reuse since a normal repositioning routine requires an entire scanline for itself.

I disassembled some of Maze Craze to learn some tricks to do Marble Craze. Maze Craze has an asymetric playfield and displays both players, both missiles, and the ball. I only did a little bit of the kernal and it's not commented very well, but e-mail me if you want to look at it. The Thrust source would probably be helpful too.

-Paul

Skeleton uses a reflected asymetrical playfield to draw the maze and both player sprites for the Skeleton.

Ms Pac Man uses an asymetrical playfield for rows with dots, and a reflected symetrical playfield for the rest of the maze.

It is very, very difficult to combine an asymetrical playfield with sprite reuse since a normal repositioning routine requires an entire scanline for itself.

Ah, it just 'clicked'. This is probably why Ebivisions PacMan has horizontal black lines in the playfield regularly spaced down the screen. It's where their sprite management routines are repositioning sprites for re-use.

Cheers

A