IGNORED

Getting a 5200 cart working?

Dauber

So....as you probably remember, I'm a 5200 noob, just got my first 5200 two weeks ago.

Went back to the store and got a few games, including Pengo....and it won't run. :( As soon as I put Pengo in, the console turns itself on to a solid green screen. I cleaned the contacts, still no better. It only does this with Pengo; all my other 5200 games work fine.

Anything else I should do besides clean the contacts? (Used alcohol, same way I got a lot of thought-dead 2600 carts back up and running.)

Also...I do remember when the dude was scanning the cartridges at the checkout counter he dropped one on the floor, and this might have been it...

Or is Pengo one of those games that has the occasional compatibility issue with a 2-port system???

No Pengo compatibility issues exist (at least, not that I'm aware of!)

A solid green screen probably means that there isn't a good connection being made (it's the same thing you'd get with no cart inserted at all.) Try inserting just the bare circuit board in the slot, and see if that works. (To open up a 5200 cart, remove the screw in the back. Expose the connection by pushing up on the cart door and hold the cart door up. Then press hard on the edges of the cart until it pops open.)

If it works with just the bare circuit board, you'll need to insert something between the top of the cart and the small plastic tab that holds the circuit board down. With just that tiny bit of additional pressure, the cart should work fine.

Sorry to hear it! Strangely, I also have a non-working Pengo cart - mine does do the Atari logo screen, with scrambled text, followed by an ugly crash. Bought a 2nd Pengo cart, and it works fine.

One other possibility... Could one of the contacts be chipped off? Had this happen to a Missile Command cart... Added a tiny dab of solder to it and it started working again.