IGNORED

My intellivision is sick...

Hi. I'm new to the Atariage forum. I have an Intellivision (I think the model number is 2609?) that when I turn it on,it goes to a black,slightly snowy screen. I try all the usual stuff,like cleaning the cartridges and the contacts,making suring the tv is on the correct channel.I've tried different adapters to the TV,pressing the reset button numerous times. I've also opened the unit and unplugged the controllers and checked the ribbon that goes from the logic board,looks ok. That's about as comfortable as Im willing to go as far as dissasemble (I have no knowledge of soldering).

Does anyone know of some other basic things I could try or know of anyone in the Louisville, Ky. area that can repair these things?

Thanks in advance and if I posted this the wrong place,I'm sorry. I look forward to having lots of conversations and learning about the INTV and other vintage game consoles,as I'm a new collector of these things.

Hi, welcome to the forums (and to Intellivision collecting). This is definitely the place to be for all things Intellivision...and occasional off-topic ramblings ;-) I'm not great at diagnosing console issues, but we have some pretty helpful gurus that typically chime in to help. Did it previously work and stop, or have you never been able to get this one to work? Also, are you using an old switchbox tv adapter or the small coax/phono f adapter to connect to the tv? Pics/video of the behavior may also be helpful. Either way, someone more knowledgeable should be along soon with better troubleshooting ideas.

Well, there are several causes that spring to mind... unfortunately no easy diagnoses... Some on this list aren't tough though.

• Bad STIC - this isn't a rare problem, sadly. No way to easily test without two units cracked open and swapping out chips.
  • Bad RF modulator - I've only seen this a couple times. I.e. all the chips are good but the modulation unit has gone bad.