IGNORED

SIO2PC/10502PC Dual USB and Mac (doesn't seem to work)

Mathy

Hello guys

I'm new to this whole SIO2PC thing and haven't really used any emulators (except for a short peak at some software).

A while ago, I bought atari8warez' SIO2PC/10502PC Dual USB interface, but can't seem to get it to work. If I plug this thing into the iMac, should I see some icon appearing in the navigation column?

Sincerely

Mathy

Edited by Mathy

It just acts like a USB->serial interface most likely. If it's based on an FTDI chip, you'll need drivers from FTDI's site. Then you'll need some software like SIO2OSX to make it go.

Is it an Intel or PowerPC iMac?

There was a free app called SIOServer floating around at some point that had a really nice looking interface. Worked well for serving up standard disk images.

Edited by kogden

@mathy

Kogden is right; probably seen in Sio2OSX as 'SERIAL1' or something like that.

You need to know what chipset is in the sio2usb.

And about Mac:

When I connect my scanner to my mac, I also do not see any icons appearing in any menu or column or whatsoever. But that does not mean my scanner is not working.

I think there is a big chance that the sio2PC USB is in fact a USB -> RS232 adapter, wired to SIO. The two most comon chipsets are FTDI and PL230x ...

Good luck!

M.

It doesn't??, so how do you see your existing COM ports in Mac OS X? I think the answer to that is in the following document:

This is the instructions on how to install FTDI VCP drivers in Mac OS X

And the following is an excerpt from that document:

When the computer has rebooted, plug in the device. If the device is installed properly, you will

see entries in the /dev directory:

/dev/cu.usbserial-xxxxxxxx

/dev/tty.usbserial-xxxxxxxx

where xxxxxxxx is either the device''s serial number or, for unserialized devices, a location string

that depends on which USB port your device is connected to. Note that for FT2232C devices port