IGNORED

Incognito SIDE help

dragos

ok, being an Atari noob, I am having trouble figuring out the SIDE part of Incognito.

I can map xex files and load them with SIDE, but I cannot get Spartados to recognize the card.

Any help pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

You have to create an APT partition on your CF card for SpartaDOS to use. There have been a few threads about this, try searching.

Here's flashjazzcat's page with the toolkit:

http://www.atari8.co.uk/apt/tools/index.html

There's some great info there, but I don't think it will help unless you can get FDISK and the other tools initially loaded without the use of SIDE.

As a noob as well, I can take an early stab at your problem.

Have you been able to make APT partitions using FDISK?

http://atari8.co.uk/apt/tools/index.html#fdisk4

Here's how I got mine going:

1) Format your CompactFlash card on Windows or a Mac as a FAT32 device. On the Mac, I think it's just listed as FAT.

2) Then run FDISK however you can. I ran FDISK off of a virtual floppy on a German SIO2USB thumb drive device after downloading it and the other tools in the suite.

3) This helped me a LOT: http://www.atari8.co.uk/apt/docs/APT%20Software%20Manual.pdf

4) You're going to want to use 1, 2, 3 or maybe 4 actual floppies or drives or other SIO stuff at some point so start your APT Compact Flash partitions at maybe DE: (D5:) or so. I could only set up one partition at a time and then save the table. If I set up more than one APT partition at a time, FDISK would lock while trying to save the partition table. Go figure.

5) FORMAT the APT partitions using SpartaDOS X after you've made them. Otherwise they will only save junk. Ignore the "this isn't a floppy" message. Then switch to D5: or whatever you've made and you should have the CF working like a virtual hard drive.