IGNORED

The 32X - Would something like it work today?

eightbit

I recently acquired a 32X (actually two of them, one is up for sale because I need only one!) and while I know all too well the bad rap it has, I personally think it is pretty cool. I don't think I ever really gave it a chance, but after some time with it I have a different mindset on the unit. I have always been a fan of Space Harrier and Afterburner, and between those two games in arcade perfection, that would have personally sealed the deal for me. That is at the price point it is right now. But, I started playing some of the other games with a mindset of someone playing them new. Many are pretty outstanding. Virtua Racing is a blast. The tight control and smoothness of this game makes me keep wanting to come back. Virtua Fighter is great too. And, I do like Kolibri ;)

I have read that people think that an add-on would never work again because of the 32X failure. I am not sure about that. Imagine a modern day add-on. Something you can buy for $150 (what this cost then) that would increase the actual performance of your console (ie: PS3, 360, Wii). As long as the games were there, I think it would sell. We all know we are in rough times now monetarily, and I think the mindset is different now. At least it is for me as a parent. I would much rather spend a lot less for an "upgrade" than buy a new system for my kids in this era.

More or less a 32X like add-on for modern consoles that was not abandoned, with games that took advantage it this add-on...and lots of them. Or everyone wants a flat out new console every few years as usual for an increasingly high price? Comments?

• Like 4