IGNORED

Colecovision Control Problems; replacing the SN74LS541N chips didn't help

guy767

I have a Colecovision that has severe control issues. Games will auto start (Can't select options) and the right input is always activated. (IE Donkey Kong will auto start and Mario will move to the right on his own) There's no response from 1 or 2 player inputs either; the ports seem to be completely dead.

I purchased a few SN74LS541N chips hoping to make the repair but there's no change after installing them.

Being a newb I detached a few pads trying to desolder the old ICs on the top side of the board. I needed to connect some traces to the pins of the new ICs with solder. However the connections seem stable and I get continuity for every pin on the ICs along their respected traces plus there aren’t any bridged connections.

I'm not sure what I should try next. Did I purchase the right part? Perhaps I ruined the board by detaching some pads? One thing of note is that Colecovision has a Factory Serviced sticker on the box indicating that the console had trouble in the past. I'm attaching a few photos of the board to help others diagnose the problem. Any advice would greatly be appreciated; thank you.

post-31549-0-30139400-1390859261_thumb.jpg

post-31549-0-54052800-1390859262_thumb.jpg

post-31549-0-68819400-1390859263_thumb.jpg

post-31549-0-75865800-1390859264_thumb.jpg

post-31549-0-80041800-1390859265_thumb.jpg

post-31549-0-61455500-1390859267_thumb.jpg

post-31549-0-08240600-1390859269_thumb.jpg

What made you change those devices other them appear to belong to the inputs, i.e. did you make any electrical tests to make you think the problem was with them?