IGNORED

Lesser-known favorite games

Nebulon

I'm fairly new to the Atari 8-bit games catalog (and I really like what I'm seeing so far).

Anyone have any favorite games for these machines that are a little less well-known than the Dig Dugs and Pac-Mans of the world?

They don't necessarily have to be obscure... just things that people sometimes overlook.

Thanks in advance!

• Like 1

Well these are my favorite games, but I am not sure whether they are unknown or not. I leave out the very known games.

1. Nerm of Bemer (basic)

2. Spy's demise

3. Drelbs

4. Stampede

5. Ocean Detox

6. Oils well

7. Panther

8. Flip and Flop

9. Jewel Bits

10. Cropky

11. Eckn+ (this game is brilliant!)

12. Dodger (basic)

You really should check them out!

Ixion

Trolls and Tribulations

Gumball

Bug Attack

Whistler's Brother

Frogger II: Threedeep

M.U.L.E.

Nibbler

Frisky Tom

Diamonds (ESC)

Desmond's Dungeon (ESC)

Lunar Leeper (OSB)

Ataritris II

Dredis

Thank God It's Friday

Mr TNT

Aquatron

Gwobby's Adventure (BAS)!

Shamus Case II

Zone X

"Budget games"

Ninja

Ninja Master

Tanium

Transmuter

Kik-Start

Scooter

:)

Some probably appear in Top 25 lists, but of the games that aren't high profile, some of the ones I recommend:

Captain Beeble, Mr Robot and his Robot Factory, The Final Legacy, Rally Speedway, Wargames, Sea Dragon, Whirlinurd, Snokie, Stealth/Landscape, Monster Smash, Pharoah's Curse, Aquatron, Red Max, Canyon Climber.

Speaking of which... Does anyone have or know where to get a digital copy of the instructions? I don't think I've seen them anywhere online yet.

Actually I know how to play it. I have the C64 manual and I know all the Atari keys. But it would be nice to have the Atari version of the manual.

My favourites were the the classic Missile Command, Pac-Man, Qix and Choplifter - all of which I had on cartridge rather than casette so It's easy to like instant loading times.