IGNORED

How do I transfer files to the Side 2

Audronic

Hi All

I am new to Atari 8 Bit.

How do I transfer files to the Side 2 (CF Card) using a PC or Mac.

What programs do I need to do the transfer, and where do i get them Please.

I am able to put them on the Fat 32 Partition that is seen by a Mac or a PC.

But don't know what is required for the ?? Other Partition.

Thanks

Ray

Everything you need is here:

http://atari8.co.uk/apt/side/

With the most recent SDX build flashed to you SIDE cart, you can boot into SpartaDOS X and install the FATFS.SYS driver right off the CAR: device. This will give you access to a FAT16 partition (of less than 32MB) right from the DOS prompt. You may then copy files from the FAT partition into SDFS (SpartaDOS File System) partitions.

You'll need to use FDISK (also on CAR:) to create the partitions, and documentation is provided which explains how to set up the system. Sorry if this is a bit brisk, but if you have more questions, just shout up. There are also quite a few topics on the forum which have talked about the subject. ;)

@flashjazzcat

Thanks for the reply, I have spent 3 days trying to find a method and was at a loss.

I have yet to learn the NEW Language that is used around the Atari 8 bit world.

I will have a look at the Spartados X Manual. ?? I assume thats where I Start ??

I come from a TRS-80 Model 1/3/4/4p Background and thought i would diversify to the Atari 8 bit environment.

This is an interesting device, It looks like additional hardware that would be useful are - Side2 and Sio2SD combination

and if i can get a 1050 Floppy, Or is there another model that i should look for ??.

@Rybags

Thanks to Rybags for selling me an Atari 130XE and getting me started.

Ray

Edited by Audronic