IGNORED

Atari console prices... going down???

Joey Kay

Hey hey!!!

I have a theory here that I'm not sure is true or not, as I never paid attention to this before.

However, will e-bay prices for vintage consoles (especially 7800) go down in the summer due to garage sale season creating a bigger supply?

Just a thought! Any ideas?

Cheers!

Joey

The console prices do fluxuate due to supply and demand. The Demand of 7800 systems is simply higher than say 2600 systems. That's why they cost more, pluss they're newer.

But summer is a good time for buying, because people are often selling more stuff then. Just don't expect a huge drop in ave price for systems. Sure, you can get lucky, but over all, the average price won't change more than $5.

The console prices do fluxuate due to supply and demand. The Demand of 7800 systems is simply higher than say 2600 systems. That's why they cost more, pluss they're newer.  

True true (I have a degree in economics... I know all about *yawn* supply and demand...

however, 7800's are going for WAY more than less than a year ago (like two to three times as much... you used to be able to pick up a boxed Warner 7800 with the expansion port for 30 bucks last summer)

Wierd...

Joey

Most likely, because there are more people interested in retro gaming now. Atari 7800 is kind of Atari's nich system. In all honestly, I didn't know anything about the 7800 untill a few years ago. I thought Atari went from the 5200 to the Lynx.

I imagine I'm not the only one that was like that. And believe it or not, the first thing I heard of 7800 was when I gor a lot from Ebay, and one of the carts was Pole Position 2 (a 7800 cart) That's what set me off looking for the 7800.

Here's something else different this year from last year.

Go to Ebay, and type in Atari 7800. You'll probably get 7 or 8 pages of hits. Last year, same thing, you'd only get 3 or 4 pages of hits.