IGNORED

Quick tutorial on cartridge PCBs needed

xjas

So I'm about to order an Ubergrom board from Arcadeshopper. I figured I'd throw another couple PCBs in to save on shipping. I see they have a 512kB board or a 64kB board & aside from the EPROM itself all the components would be pretty easy to obtain.

Is there a distinct advantage of one over the other? Compatability issues with the 512k or is the 64k EPROM easier to source/program? Should I get one of each? (Will probably get two boards in any case.) Is there a more advanced option that uses EEPROMs or flash memory?

I'm mostly interested in running my own binaries (my E/A cart arrived!), but I might order some pre-programmed multicarts chips from AS as well - I assume these will plug into an assembled board and work straight away?

Sorry for the really basic questions - I have zero experience with EPROM programming as of yet but it's something I've wanted to be able to do for some time.

Here's the lowdown on the various cartridge boards:

Black boards are 128K boards (but can be used as a four-in-one cartridge with 128K in each zone with the addition of two switches--the board includes their tie points in the layout). These use the inverse, Guidry-board bank switching method. A large number of cartridge images exist in this format, so it makes sense to keep them available--and there are a lot of new cartridges out there that use this format as well. These are the ultimate extension of the 16K/64K Guidry boards.

Red boards are 512K boards that use the non-inverted bank switching method. There are now eight cartridge images out there that rely on this board--with a ninth one mostly laid out. This board can be expanded to a two-in-one cartridge with 512K in each zone by adding a single switch--and the tie points for that are already part of the layout. This one also supports use of Non-volatile Static RAM chips instead of EPROMs, up to 512K in size.