IGNORED

Intellivision III problems-games resetting to title screen...

ataridave

So I got an Intellivision III that's modded for AV out from Ebay. The picture looks great, of course, but when playing Astrochase or Atlantis (and I cleaned the contacts on both of these games very well) both games reset to the title screen after anywhere from 2 minutes to 15 minutes of game play. I have no idea what''s causing it, and even the Ebay seller can't pinpoint a direct cause.

Did the seller do the AV modding himself? If he did he should know enough about the Intellivision to say what might be wrong. I am no expert but this seems to be a problem with one of the chips that causes the game to reset.

Hopefully one of the more knowledgeable members can chime in.

He did the modding himself, and no, he didn't get as specific as a chip. You'd think that someone who's knowledgeable enough to mod one of these older consoles for AV out would notice something like that, and fix it. What's worse is that he's a top-rated seller on Ebay. I think he's on this site. glennfre is his Ebay name.

Edited by newataridave

You'd think that someone who's knowledgeable enough to mod one of these older consoles for AV out would notice something like that, and fix it.

Well, it's not as if a failing chip waves a flag and says "Over here! I'm over here!" :) :) :) Boy, I wish they did. It'd save a lot of time.

If it's as simple as a chip being loose in a socket, giving each socketed chip a firm press to reseat them should work. The logic board sits component-side down in the Intellivision, so gravity + thermal cycling may have worked its magic on those socketed chips.

Or, it could be an issue with the circuit that drives the reset input to the STIC. (The STIC is responsible for resetting the machine.) It's basically just a non-polarized capacitor and a resistor pulling to +5v, as I recall. Enough noise here and ... blip! You're reset.