IGNORED

I wonder if this could be done...would like to try

The Usotsuki

A few hours ago, I saw some video play of a port of Jet Set Willy to the Tano Dragon, and it got me thinking.

We know the Tano Dragon, being a modified Tandy Color Computer, has similar graphical capabilities to the Apple ][.

We know the Commodore 64, which also got a port, has a CPU of equivalent power to the ]['s.

I'd prolly pitch in as much as I can if someone else wanted to try, though I'm a horrible game programmer - but I'd like to see if Jet Set Willy could be pulled off on the ][. I bet it could.

We know the Commodore 64, which also got a port, has a CPU of equivalent power to the ]['s.

But it also has hardware sprites and JSW on the C64 is using them for Willy, the enemies and even static but animated objects like Maria or the toilet. i'm not saying it's impossible, just that the C64 version can't really be used for illustrative purposes in that way. (And if i had an interest, i'd start at Manic Miner personally... =-)

The ZX Spectrum doesn't have hardware sprites, iirc.

No it doesn't, but again that doesn't work for demonstrative purposes because the Spectrum's CPU is a Z80A pulling 3.5MHz which gives it about twice the overall processing power.

The closest thing i could think of at this time in the morning before the caffeine kicked in was the Oric 1, which is 6502-based at 1MHz with 48K of RAM and no hardware sprites; there isn't a port of Jet Set Willy for it but they did produce a version of Manic Miner - since that works, JSW should be possible on both machines.

• Like 1