IGNORED

Stubborn Broken Intellivision

HunterZero

Hi tech heads, Happy new year!

Can anyone give me suggestions on what else to try to repair logic on a recalcitrant Intellivision that doesn't want to start?

Symptom: Solid dark green screen when turning it on. Does not respond to reset button except with the faintest of flicker.

It is a PAL unit with the daughterboard in place of the colour chip.

* Cleaned cart connector

* Power supply checks out

* Reset circuit checks out

* Cleaned sockets

* Reseated socketed chips, then and replaced all socketed chips with spares

* Replaced driver transistors

* Replaced C26 (the one near the reset switch)

* Replaced C40

No change.

I have no oscilloscope, but have acquired a logic probe, and wanted to check if the crystals are good, and to check if certain pins are strobing to see if the unit is actually clocking/running.

I am wondering if there's a bad socket on this board but it visually checks out.

I've never used a probe before, can anyone here give me some direction on the best way to hook it up, and what pins to test to check the crystals and CPU and video signals?

Thanks!

- James

I think many of us are sitting on spare units that have similar issues.

I have one unit that doesn't boot, and a couple units that go bad after a few seconds/minutes of play.

Until recently the prices on eBay were low enough that it was easier to buy another unit than spend time and effort on troubleshooting.

That is changing. Pricing for replacement units is going higher. I may need to look into my defective guys before long, too.

• 2 weeks later...

A plain "green" screen seems like a hint that the EXEC is able to do something, but it's not reading the cart correctly. (I put "green" in quotes, with the hope it's really that olive color that the Intellivision documentation (including GI datasheets) insists is brown.)

You might check that the 74LS86 chip is doing OK.

• 2 weeks later...